Skip to main content


Tropical Research And Education Center

Tropical Research And Education Center

People

Use this directory to learn more about the people of TREC: faculty members, staff, students, and researchers.

Dr. Edward

Dr. Edward 'Gilly' Evans
Center Director & Professor

Food and Resource Economics Department
786-217-9263
eaevans@ufl.edu 

Dr. Jonathan H. Crane
Associate Center Director & Professor
Horticultural Sciences Department
786-217-9271
jhcr@ufl.edu

 

Dr. Haimanote Bayabil

Dr. Haimanote Bayabil
Assistant Professor
Agricultural and Biological Engineering
786-217-9253
hbayabil@ufl.edu

Dr. Zachary Brym

Dr. Zachary Brym
Assistant Professor
Agronomy Department
786-217-9238
brymz@ufl.edu

Dr. Daniel Carrillo

Dr. Daniel Carrillo
Associate Professor
Entomology and Nematology Department
786-217-9245
dancar@ufl.edu

Dr. Romina Gazis

Dr. Romina Gazis
Associate Professor
Plant Pathology Department
786-217-9275
r.gazisseregina@ufl.edu

Dr. Young Gu Her

Dr. Young Gu Her
Associate Professor
Agricultural and Biological Engineering
786-217-9288
yher@ufl.edu
Lab website

Dr. Xiaoying Li
Assistant Professor
Horticultural Sciences Department
xiaoying.li@ufl.edu 

 

Dr. Yuncong Li

Dr. Yuncong Li
Professor
Department of Soil, Water, & Ecosystem Sciences
786-217-9251
yunli@ufl.edu

Dr. Geoffrey Meru

Dr. Geoffrey Meru
Associate Professor
Horticultural Sciences Department
786-217-9287
gmeru@ufl.edu

 

Dr. Alexandra Revynthi
Assistant Professor
Entomology and Nematology Department
786-217-9244
arevynthi@ufl.edu
Acarology Workshop

Dr. Bruce Schaffer

Dr. Bruce Schaffer
Professor
Horticultural Sciences Department
786-217-9265
bas56@ufl.edu
Lab website

Dr. Dakshina R. Seal

Dr. Dakshina Seal
Scientist
Entomology and Nematology Department
786-217-9269
dseal3@ufl.edu

Dr. Ashley Smyth

Dr. Ashley R. Smyth
Assistant Professor
Department of Soil, Water, and Ecosystem Sciences
786-217-9291
ashley.smyth@ufl.edu

Dr. Xingbo Wu
Assistant Professor
Environmental Horticulture
(786)-217-9279
xingbo.wu@ufl.edu

Dr. Shouan Zhang

Dr. Shouan Zhang
Professor
Plant Pathology Department
786-217-9233
szhang0007@ufl.edu


Emeritus Faculty


Dr. Thomas L. Davenport
Associate Professor Emeritus
Department of Horticultural Sciences
(305) 246-7000
tldav@ufl.edu

Dr. Waldemar Klassen
Professor Emeritus
Department of Entomology and Nematology
(305) 246-7000
klassen@ufl.edu

Dr. Richard E. Litz
Professor Emeritus
Department of Horticultural Sciences
(305) 246-7000
relitz@ufl.edu

Catharine Mannion
Professor Emeritus
Department of Entomolgy and Nematology
(305) 246-7000
cmannion@ufl.edu 

Dr. Jorge E. Peña
Professor Emeritus
Department of Entomology and Nematology
(305) 246-7000
jepena@ufl.edu

Dr. Randy Ploetz
Professor Emeritus
Department of Plant Pathology
(305) 246-7000
kelly12@ufl.edu

Dr. Christine Waddill
Professor Emeritus
Department of Plant Pathology
(305) 246-7000
cwaddill@ufl.edu

Dr. Van H. Waddill
Professor Emeritus
Department of Entomology and Nematology
(305) 246-7000
waddill@ufl.edu


Courtesy Professors


Courtesy appointments apply to persons having the appropriate professional qualifications or having distinction and honor in their field, who are appointed without compensation to a department. Appointees must be significantly involved in the teaching, scholarly, or creative activities of the department offering the courtesy appointment.

Name Position Employer Email
Bridgeman, Puran  CO PROF  University of Trinidad and Tobago (UTT)  pbridgemohan@ufl.edu 
Campbell, Richard J  CO PROF  Ciruli Brothers, LLC, Miami, Florida  rcampbell@cirulibrothers.com 
Gu, Binhe CO PROF South Florida Water Management District bengu57@ufl.edu  
Palmateer, Aaron  CO PROF  SePRO Corporation ajp@ufl.edu 
Roda, Amy Louise  CO PROF  USDA/ARS, SHRS  amy.l.roda@aphis.usda.gov  
Wan, Yongshan  CO PROF  South Florida Water Management District  ywan@sfwmd.gov 
Yang, Yuechao  CO PROF  Shandong Agriculture University  yuechaoyang@ufl.edu 

 

Staff


Maria E. Bernal
Manager, Administrative Services
(786) 217-9227
mariaebernal@ufl.edu

Jose Castillo
Farm Manager
(786) 217-9246 
josegc@ufl.edu 

Ronald Brown
IT Professional I
(786) 217- 9247
ronald.brown@ufl.edu

Shannon Cutler
Fiscal Clerk
(786) 217-9232 
shannonbcutler@ufl.edu

Lisandro Mateo

Lisandro Mateo
Accounting Intern
(786) 217-9229
lmateo1@ufl.edu

 Yomiris Reyes

Yomiris Reyes
Social Media Specialist
(786) 217-9226
yomiris.reyes@ufl.edu

 

Monique Scoggin
Marketing and Communications Specialist
(786) 217-9226
mis6664@ufl.edu

Melissa Stanton
Accountant III
(786) 217-9228 
melissamstanton@ufl.edu

Jorge Vergel
Sr. Maintenance Supervisor
(786) 217-9283 
jmvergel@ufl.edu

Administrative Staff


Name Position Program Email Phone Number
Alegria, Jose M.  Agricultural Assistant II  Fruit Crop Entomology  jalegria@ufl.edu  786-217-9240 
Arias, Eduardo R.  Agricultural Assistant I  Support Services  earias@ufl.edu  786-217-9246 
Ballen Orozco, Fredy H.  Data Management Analyst II  Agricultural Economics  fredy.ballen@ufl.edu  786-217-9264 
Bartell, Christian  Engineer I  Agricultural & Biological Engineering  c.bartell@ufl.edu   786-217-9254 
Brym, Maria  Biological Scientist II  Horticultural Science  maria.brym@ufl.edu  786-217-9280 
Calzadilla, Daniel  Biological Scientist II  Agroecology  dcalzadilla@ufl.edu  786-217-9293 
Canon, Maria Alejandra  Research Assistant  Ornamental Plant Entomology  malejandra1@ufl.edu  786-217-9240 
Carter, Charles  Field Technician  Vegetable Entomology  ccarter.7325@ufl.edu  786-217-9270 
Castro, Kevin  Agricultural Assistant II  Plant Ecophysiology  kevin.castro@ufl.edu  786-217-9272 
Cruz, Luisa  Biological Scientist IV  Fruit Crop Entomology  luisafcruz@ufl.edu  786-217-9240  
De Paula Lelis, Tiago  Biological Scientist III  Ornamental Plant Pathology  tdepaulalelis@ufl.edu  786-217-9276 
Diaz, Carlos  Maintenance Generalist I  Support Services  tdepaulalelis@ufl.edu  786-217-9283 
Fu, Yuqing  Biological Scientist II  Plant Pathology  carlos.diaz@ufl.edu  786-217-9282 
Hall, Jacob  Sr. Agricultural Assistant  Support Services  yuqingf@ufl.edu  786-217-9246 
Heiden, Katie  Biological Scientist II  Biogeochemistry  jacob3@ufl.edu  786-217-9294 
Hughes, Nicholas L.  Maintenance Generalist II  Support Services  kheiden@ufl.edu  786-217-9283 
Jean Louis, Andy  Intern  Fruit Crop Entomology  nehughes04@ufl.edu  786-217-9245 
Latty, Nathan  Intern  Horticultural Science  ajeanlouis@ufl.edu  786-217-9280 
Liu, Qingchun  Biological Scientist III  Vegetable Plant Pathology  nlatty@ufl.edu  786-217-9234 
Martin, Cliff  Biological Scientist II  Vegetable Entomology  q.liu1@ufl.edu  786-217-9270 
Martinez, Maury  Maintenance Generalist III  Support Services  cgm@ufl.edu  786-217-9283 
Melcon, Ray  Biological Scientist II  Tropical Fruit Crops  martinezmaury@ufl.edu  786-217-9272 
Montas, Wanda  Biological Scientist III  Tropical Fruit Crops  raymelcon@ufl.edu  786-217-9272 
Moon, Pamela  Biological Scientist III  Tissue Culture/ Biotechnology  wmontas@ufl.edu  786-217-9282 
Ramirez Corona, Jorge  Maintenance Generalist II  Support Services  jramirezcorona@ufl.edu  786-217-9283 
Rodriguez, Aymee  Intern  Horticulture Science  ay.rodriguez@ufl.edu  786-217-9281 
Sabines, Catherine M.  Laboratory Technician III  Vegetable Entomology  csabines@ufl.edu  786-217-9270 
Seal, Shawbeta  Agricultural Assistant   Agricultural & Biological Engineering  seal17shaw@ufl.edu  786-217-9254 
Smith, Bill A.  Agricultural Assistant  Support Services  bsmitha@ufl.edu  786-217-9246 
Tannenbaum, Rebecca  Agricultural Food Scientist II  Tropical Fruit Crops / IR4  radar78@ufl.edu  786-217-9273 
Vargas, Ana I.  Biological Scientist III  Plant Ecophysiology avargas22@ufl.edu  786-217-9266 
Velazquez, Yisell  Biological Scientist II  Ornamental Plant Entomology  yvelazquez@ufl.edu  786-217-9242 
Vergel, Oralia  Custodial Worker II  Support Services  overgel@ufl.edu  786-217-9283 
Wang, YuanYuan  Agricultural Assistant  Vegetable Pathology  wangyuanyuan@ufl.edu  786-217-9234 
Wiggan, Kingsley  Laboratory Technician  Horticultural Science  k.wiggan@ufl.edu  786-217-9280 
Yu, Gui Qin  Chemist III  Soil Sciences  yugui55@ufl.edu  786-217-9256 

Advisory Board


Students


Graduate Students


NameProgramEmailPhoto
Adeleye, Victoria  Entomology and Nematology  vadeleye@ufl.edu   
Anderson, Joshua  Genetics Tropical Fruit Crops  anderson.joshua@ufl.edu   
Beach, Tim  Soil and Water Science  beach.t@ufl.edu   
Berling, Kevin  Soil and Water Science  berlingkj@ufl.edu   
Da-young, Kim  Agronomy Department  dayoung.kim@ufl.edu   
De Camargo Santos, Aline  Molecular Plant Physiology  adecamargosantos@ufl.edu   
De Giosa, Marcello  Ornamental Plant Entomology  m.degiosa@ufl.edu   
De Moraes Berto, Marielle  Entomology and Nematology  mdemoraesberto@ufl.edu  
Gastelbondo, Manuel  Genetics Tropical Fruit Crops  gastelbondom@ufl.edu   
Haley, Nicholas  Food and Resources Economy  nhaley@ufl.edu   
Huang, Yi  Plant Pathology  yhwinnie@ufl.edu   
Karlsen-Ayala, Elena  Ornamental Plant Entomology  ekarlsenayala@ufl.edu   
Mane Belizaire, Christ  Ornamental Plant Entomology  cbelizaire@ufl.edu   
Meng, Shanyu  Soil and Water Science  shanyu@ufl.edu   
Menocal, Octavio  Entomology and Nematology  omenocal18@ufl.edu   
Pierre, Ketsira  Plant Pathology  ketsirapierre@ufl.edu   
Reyes, Gabriela  Biogeochemistry  g.reyes@ufl.edu   
Sanchez, Federico  Horticultural Science  federico.sanchez@ufl.edu   
Shrestha, Swati  Horticultural Science  s.shrestha@ufl.edu   
Shin, Sat-Byeol  Agricultural and Biological Engineering  satbyeol.shin@ufl.edu   
Serrano, Tamara  Agronomy Department  t.serrano@ufl.edu   
Talton, Hannah  Ornamental Plant Entomology  htalton@ufl.edu   
Tefera, Bewuket  Agricultural and Biological Engineering  bewukettefera@ufl.edu   
Teshome, Fitsum  Agricultural and Biological Engineering  fteshome@ufl.edu   
Van Zeghbroeck, Joris  Soil and Water Science  jvanzeghbroeck@ufl.edu   
Welidehanna, Fikadu G.  Agricultural and Biological Engineering  fikadugetachew@ufl.edu   
Williams, Ajit  Agronomy Department  agatorwilliams@ufl.edu   
Yin, Melinda  Molecular Plant Physiology  myin@ufl.edu   
Yudin, Richard  Soil and Water Science  ryudin@ufl.edu   

Postdocs


NameProgramEmailPhone
Maria Silva Ataide, Dr. Livia  Entomology and Nematology  lsilvaataide@ufl.edu  786-217-9242 
Faal, Dr. Hajar  Fruit Crop Entomology  hajar.faalmohamm@ufl.edu  786-217-9245 
Franciosi Della Vechia, Dr. Jacqueline  Fruit Crop Entomology  franciosidella.j@ufl.edu  786-217-9245 
Gañán Betancur, Dr. Lederson  Ornamental Plant Pathology  l.gananbetancur@ufl.edu  786-217-9276 
Greene, Dr. Daniel  Entomology and Nematology  anthonygreene@ufl.edu  786-217-9242 
Kahn, Dr. Rafia  Entomology and Nematology  rkhan@ufl.edu  786-217-9249 
Michael, Dr. Vincent  Genetics Tropical Fruit Crops  michael.vn@ufl.edu  n/a 
Navia-Urrutia, Dr. Monica  Ornamental Plant Pathology  m.naviaurrutia@ufl.edu  786-217-9276 
Njoroge, Dr. Anastasia  Fruit Crop Entomology  anjoroge@ufl.edu  786-217-9240 
Soares, Dr. Juliana Moreira  Ornamental Plant Pathology  jmoreirasoares@ufl.edu  786-217-9276 
Vargas Orozco, Dr. German  Entomology and Nematology  german.vargas@ufl.edu  786-217-9242 

Research Scholars


NameDepartmentPhone ExtensionEmailVS HostHome University/Organization
Ahmad, Muhammad  Horticultural Sciences  9282  muhammadahmad@ufl.edu  Dr. Elias Bassil  University of Agriculture, Faisalabad, Pakistan 
Rodrigues de Souza, Edivan  Crop Ecophysiology  9266  edivansouza@ufl.edu  Dr. Bruce Schaffer  Federal Rural University of Pernambuco, Agronomy Department, Recife - PE, Brazil 
Salvador Montoya, Carlos  Plant Pathology  9276  csalvadormontoya@ufl.edu   Dr. Romina Gazis  Universidad Nacional del Nordeste (Argentina) and Museo de Historia Natural Universidad Mayor de San Marcos (Peru) 
Song, Junghun  Agricultural and Biological Engineering  8268  junghunsong@ufl.edu  Dr. Young Gu Her  Seoul National University 

TREC Resources